Masking Tape and a Sharpie – Best Kitchen Tools Ever!

Masking Tape and a Sharpie are Important  Kitchen Tools

Masking Tape and a Sharpie are Important Kitchen Tools

When the masking tape in my kitchen junk drawer starts to get low, I get anxious.  I use it everyday, along with a Sharpie, to label foods before I store them in my fridge or freezer.  It’s important, because I can never remember how old anything is in there unless it has a label on it.  It’s also useful to note when I have opened foods like cream cheese or hummus, because they have a limited shelf life once opened.  I may have been given the nickname “Charlene the food safety queen” by some of my friends that know me well.  Better to have a goofy nickname than to have an upset stomach, or worse.

What do you do to keep track of the food that you prepare/open and store?  Let us know by clicking on the title of this post and then scroll down to the bottom to leave a comment.

2 Comments on “Masking Tape and a Sharpie – Best Kitchen Tools Ever!”

  1. I totally do this too!! lol :)
    And yes, I have defrosted frozen bananas (turned into mush) when I had thought it was something completely different when I don’t label …

    • I just realized that when I mash-up and freeze my over-ripe bananas, I do not always label them either, thinking I will just “know” what they are – not good when you are thinking it’s mashed potatoes!


Let us know what you think:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,277 other followers