Iced Tea to Survive the Day

Pomegranate Delight is my New Favorite!

Pomegranate Delight is my New Favorite!

I recently read an article in Good Housekeeping magazine about how to feel like you are 25 again.  There were 25 suggestions and the second one out of the gate involved swapping my glass of wine for a mojito (although the author does point out that the alcohol is optional).  The next idea involves going to Forever 21 (a girly clothing store) with a friend and buying $4 sparkly earrings.  Number eight is another idea involving drinking, this time suggesting I reserve a spot in my already over-crowded refrigerator for a bottle of Prosecco, so I’m always read to “celebrate” on a moment’s notice.  Is this really what my life has become?  That in order to feel younger I need to drink more alcohol and wear cheap earrings?

I’d like to say that my teenage kids keep me young, but,  whenever I go into Forever 21 I just feel older as I give my daughter a time limit based on how long I can tolerate the music (if you want to call it that) permeating every corner of the store and my head.  Having to rely on my son to help me with each electronic device in our house, from the computer to the TV, doesn’t help me feel “twenty-something” either.  Other than hopping in a time machine, I don’t think I will be returning to that 25 year-old feeling, but I understand what the article was getting at.  Try to incorporate some fun in your daily “grind”.  I find a good sense of humor helps too and iced tea….lots and lots of iced tea.

I drink iced tea every day and honestly, it would be easier if I could just hook-up a tube and let it flow directly to my veins intravenously, but it’s not just caffeine that my body needs.  It’s the crisp, delicious flavor of the tea that helps to clear my mind and awaken my senses; so I’m ready for the next adventure of shuttling my kids around in my mini-van.  And, let’s face it, the caffeine helps too.  However, cup for cup, tea is about half the caffeine of a cup of coffee, so I can drink it throughout the day without feeling “jittery”.

I have a new, favorite iced tea recipe to share with you, but feel free to click here to read a previous post with another favorite recipe for Blackberry Sage iced tea.  The recipe below is a new way of brewing iced tea that I prefer because it gets the tea into the fridge quicker to start cooling – now that’s what I’m talking about!

This iced tea recipe uses Twining’s tea bags, click here to learn more.

What’s your favorite iced tea?  To leave a comment, click on the title of this post at the top of the page and then scroll down to leave a comment – thanks!

Pomegranate Iced Tea

 

3 tea bags Twinings English Breakfast (English Afternoon is also good)

2 tea bags Twinings Pomegranate Delight

Pour 6 cups of cool water in a 2-quart container and place in the fridge to get cold.

Pour 2 cups of cool water in a small sauce pan and boil.

Once boiling, remove from heat and add the 5 tea bags and allow to steep for 15 minutes.

After 15 minutes, remove the tea bags and add the tea water to your pitcher of cold water and place back in the fridge.

Pour over a glass of ice to enjoy!

***Recipe courtesy of http://www.nourishednation.wordpress.com***

2 Comments on “Iced Tea to Survive the Day”

  1. I am sipping a glass of your iced tea as I write this and it is delicious. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    • So glad you are enjoying the tea – I’ve just finished a glass myself. I like the looks of your veggie ricotta pie – the sweet potato crust is a new twist. I may have to share a post on my spinach ricotta pie soon.


Let us know what you think:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,276 other followers