Chicken Noodle Slurp!

This soup is loaded with egg noodles!

This soup is loaded with egg noodles!

This time of year, I make homemade soup on a weekly basis.  There is something so warm and comforting about a bowl of homemade soup, especially if it is loaded with noodles.  I’ve recently discovered how yummy and satisfying egg noodles are when added to my chicken noodle soup.  Just serve a hearty wedge of bread alongside it and you have a light and healthy lunch or supper to warm you when it’s chilly outside .  The leftover noodles not used in the soup are deliciously silky with some butter and parmesan cheese – another comfort food!  This version of my chicken noodle soup really cooks up quickly if the noodles are already cooked and placed in a container in the fridge with a little olive oil to keep them separated.  It also helps if the carrot and celery sticks are already prepared.  See my earlier post on: Storing Celery and Carrot sticks.

Give this recipe a try by clicking here or on the Dinner 911 tab at the top of this page. Note this recipe has been removed to make room for another Dinner 911 recipe.

What is your favorite soup?  Click on the blog title at the top of the page and scroll down to leave a comment.  Thanks and enjoy!

6 Comments on “Chicken Noodle Slurp!”

  1. Doreen says:

    I have never put egg noodles in soup, but I just bought some at Trader Joes and intend on putting them in my next batch of vegetable soup that I make almost weekly!

  2. Christine says:

    Hi Charlene, my first post on your blog! So, I’ve been making chicken soup in the crock pot using the McCormick slow cooker chicken soup packet and it’s been a big hit with the kids. The recipe calls for egg noodles too!

    • Hi Christine! Thanks for the tip – I will definitely give it a try. I use the McCormick packet for slow cooker chicken and it comes out delicious. We use it to make “sloppy Joe” type subs. I do things a little differently than the packet directions, however – I may have to do a blog post on that soon!

  3. Andy Glenn says:

    Actually, putting a whole egg in there (no not the shell :) ) is also really good and gives the soup a nice color too


Let us know what you think:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,292 other followers